The Valleys Regional Park
Parc Rhanbarthol y Cymoedd
The original aqueduct was completed in 1795 engineer Thomas Dadford Junior to carry the Neath Canal over the Afon Nedd (River Neath). It was washed away by a flood in 1979 and replaced by a metal aqueduct 2008. At 34 metres long it is the longest single span aqueduct in Britain.
The works created a 1 km trail with associated canal, access and environmental improvements along the Neath Canal to encourage more visits to an area promoted for its water features, and to enhance the potential of re-opening the canal to navigation.
VRP ERDF INFRASTRUCTURE AND LANDSCAPE PROJECTS
CYD TERRACE & YNYSBWLLOG AQUEDUCT
PROJECT SPONSORS AND PARTNERS
The proposals included environmental works to provide improved visitor experience in this picturesque area, improving access for all, car parking, viewing areas, picnic site, landscaping and planting, Japanese knotweed control.
Project encouraged both local community and destination visitors through site enhancements and links to local tourism businesses: boating, accommodation, cafes. This will in turn encourage spend in the local area and increase prosperity.
Careful environmental management was implemented in the design and construction: sustainable and recycled resources were used, suitable drainage methods to be adopted to avoid water contamination, excavated materials to be used as fill in.